Welcome…

Now, I know we’ve been here before, but, to be quite honest…I think it’s about time this was done properly, don’t you? For those of you who have been here in the past, it’s nice to have you back, but, to those who are new around these parts, welcome to my relaunched and (hopefully) improved motorsport blog. Essentially, this is going to be a relatively short introductory post to give you a little bit of background as to where my interest in racing came from and to bring you up to speed (excuse the pun) with what I’ve got planned for the season ahead, so…let’s get on with it!

For virtually as long as I can remember – and probably even longer than that – I’ve been a massive fan of motorsport as a whole, and, after being brought up watching endless Formula One races in the late ’90s without really being able to understand what was going on, my earliest real memory was the first race meeting I ever actually went to as part of the short-lived ‘Powertour’ series that sprung up in the UK around the turn of the century. From there, as I grew up, although I was still an F1 fan first and foremost, I started getting into watching more and more different types of racing, and, when I was given a British Touring Car Championship DVD as a Christmas present one year, I soon became hooked and started to drift away from the open-wheel series towards the more saloon-car based championships, which is still pretty much the case today.
Anyone who knows me well enough will know just how enthusiastic I am about motorsport – to be brutally honest, I could talk about it for a very, VERY long time given the chance – but, when it was suggested to me by my tutor at university that I should consider writing a blog about something that interested me as a way of demonstrating my creativity, I must admit, I was a little bit reluctant to try it, mainly because I thought at the time that very few people would be interested in what I had to say about a topic that I recognise, even now, is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. Eventually, though, I decided to take the plunge and start one – mainly as a means of distracting myself from the rigours of a law degree – and, despite the varying degrees of success that it’s had over the last couple of years, it’s actually turned into something that I’ve really enjoyed getting to grips with, and (hopefully) is something I’m going to be able to carry on with in the future.

Anyway, enough about me – it’s probably about time I gave you a bit of an insight into what I’m looking at doing with this over the course of the 2017 season, but this is fairly likely to change over the next few weeks as the entry lists and grids gradually start to be filled and I then decide which ones I’m not going to bother with:

SINGLE SEATERS – This is the area that’s probably most likely to expand compared with what I did last season, but, as it stands at the minute, it’s going to remain the same, meaning that I’m again going to be covering Formula One and the direct feeder series below it, namely the GP2 Series and the imaginatively-titled GP3 Series.

Potential Additions:
1) World Series Formula V8 3.5
2) Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0
3) FIA European Formula 3 Championships

TOURING CARS – As I’ve already said, this is my main area of interest, and was probably reflected in the fact that I covered more championships here than I did in any other area last season, but there has been a bit of an upheaval in the last few months or so, so it may well change as well, but, for now, I’m sticking with the four I did last year, namely the British Touring Car Championship, the World Touring Car Championship, the TCR International Series and the renamed Supercars series from Australia.

Potential Additions:
1) DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters – German Touring Cars)
2) European Touring Car Championship
3) ADAC TCR Germany
4) TCR Scandinavia

RALLYING – There’s not really too much I can do here to be honest in terms of making any changes, so it’s highly likely I’m going to stick with just the main series in this area, the World Rally Championship.

Potential Additions:
1) FIA World Rallycross Championship (World RX)

GT AND SPORTSCARS – This is an area I’ve been slow to get into in the past, mainly because the races are just too long and quite complicated in terms of keeping track of what’s happening in the various classes, so it may be that this gets cut nearer the time, but it’s certainly one I’m considering adding in if people want to read about it.

Potential Additions:
1) FIA World Endurance Championship
2) Blancpain GT Series (Sprint and Endurance Cups)

As well as all of this, I’m also planning on starting up a new, more opinion-based series of posts that, based on the name of the blog, I’m going to call ‘Mouthing Off’ (see what I did there?), in which I’m going to take a look at some of the wider issues in the motorsport world beyond what you might see out on track, analysing the pros and cons before adding my personal opinion as to what the best course of action would be. However, these kinds of posts are only going to be written either when there’s no much actual racing going on – particularly over the next few weeks or so, when the vast majority of these championships are yet to get underway – or if there’s a story that catches my eye and I feel as though I have enough to say about it, so there’s probably not going to be too many of these!

Finally for now, as much as it is me writing this, I absolutely want to get people’s thoughts and opinions on the major talking points as the year unfolds, so what I’m also going to do is add into each post a link to the specific page of the website I use to keep up to date with most of these championships, allowing you to watch the same coverage and comment on what happened if you so wish, while I’m also looking at maybe adding a poll to each post as well – for instance, asking which driver might have been at fault for a particular incident – to try and get some debate going.
So, hopefully you like the sound of what I’ve told you here, and, when the posts eventually begin to drop more frequently once the majority of championships get fully underway, that you’ll want to stick around and have a read…

Leave a Reply

